Sunday, 3 May 2015


Today's photograph was taken at Oulton Park in July 1987 at the Richard Seaman Memorial Trophies Meeting. The programme of the event had this to say about these trophies:

The Richard Seaman Trophies
These were kindly presented to the Vintage Sports Car Club by George Monkhouse Esq, as a memorial to his friend that great British driver, R.J.B.Seaman. There are two Trophies and two races, one for pre-1931 Vintage Racing Cars, and the other for Historic Racing Cars made before 1940. In addition to the scratch races for the trophies each race will include a handicap.

The Historic Trophy race always includes a sprinkling of ERA cars; nine took part on this occasion, and this is one of them.
This is a 1935 ERA, R4A, at that time owned by Sir John Venables-Llewelyn, and was fitted with a 2 litre supercharged engine. The ERA Club has detailed records of all the ERA cars and this is a list of the owners of R4A since it was built:


P G Fairfield 1935 to 1937
N G Wilson 1937 to 1942
R Parnell 1942 to 1945
F R Gerard 1945 to 1955
J MacPhee 1955 to 1956
J de Villiers 1956 to 1957
J Shield 1957 to 1960
J de Villiers 1960 to 1961
B Sargeant 1961 to 1963
F P Brewer 1963 to 1966
Sir John Venables-Llewelyn 1966 to 1996
P A Mann & J Wildbolz 1996 to 1998
J Wildbolz 1998 to 2008
J-R Grellet 2008 to 2012
N J Topliss 2012 to date

There are also details of all the ERA cars on this site.

No comments:

Post a Comment