Wednesday, 10 August 2016

Auto Unions at Donington Park in 2001

On 2 December 2012 I showed some photographs of the 1937 Auto Union C-type and 1938 D-type that Audi took to the Richard Seaman Memorial Trophies meeting at Donington Park in May 2001, Here are the other seven photographs of the cars I took that day - six of the C-type and one of the D-type.
Here's what has to say about the Auto Union C-type
The 1937 European Championship Grand Prix season was dominated by Mercedes-Benz with the W125, but Rudolf Hasse won the Belgian Grand Prix in an Auto Union C-type.
Berndt Rosemeyer won the 1937 Donington Grand Prix, a non-championship event, in an Auto Union C-type. 
Hans Stuck, Hermann Müller, Ernst von Delius, Tazio Nuvolari, Luigi Fagioli and Achille Varzi were the other drivers for Auto Union in the European Championship Grand Prix races in 1937.
Ernst von Delius lost his life in an accident in the 1937 German Grand Prix at the Nürburgring at the wheel of an Auto Union.
The 1937 European Championship was won by Rudolf Caracciola in his Mercedes-Benz W125, winning three of the five races. The highest placed Auto Union driver was Hans Stuck in fifth place.
Tazio Nuvolari won the 1938 Italian Grand Prix in an Auto Union D-type, but Mercedes-Benz won the other three races in the 1938 European Championship Grand Prix series with the W154.

No comments:

Post a Comment